The different stages of sleep

REM stands for rapid eye movement. OK, sleep well, perchance to dream…. Graphic courtesy of National Institutes of Health REM sleep is the time when the most vivid dreams occur, because the brain is so active during this stage.

If awoken during REM sleep, a person can remember the dreams. This does not include the problems that can happen with sleep medications like Ambien and Lunesta. Short awakenings may disappear with amnesia. Stage Two The second stage of sleep lasts about 20 minutes.

We typically enter REM approximately 90 minutes after falling asleep. Voluntary muscles are those that you need to move by choice, for example, your arms and legs. As the night progresses, individuals spend increasingly more time in REM sleep and correspondingly less time in deep sleep.

REM sleep is characterized by eye movement, increased respiration rate and increased brain activity. You can have intense dreams during REM sleep, since your brain is more active.

Your heart rate and breathing quickens. Main body of light sleep. Stages 3 and 4 are referred to as deep sleep, slow wave sleep, or delta sleep. Stage Four This is sometimes referred to as Delta Sleep because of the delta waves that occur during this time.

Much less is known about deep sleep than REM sleep. Body temperature begins dropping and heart rate starts slowing down. Sleep cycles through these stages approximately 4 or 5 times throughout the night.

REM can last up to an hour as our sleep progresses. A sleep cycle refers to the period of time it takes for an individual to progress through the stages of sleep outlined above.

Stages of Sleep and Sleep Cycles

The first cycle of REM often lasts only a short amount of time, but each cycle becomes longer. Involuntary muscles are those that include your heart and gut. You are in light sleep. Sleep begins in Stage One and progresses into stages 2, 3, and 4.

Stage 4 Eyes open, responsive to external stimuli, can hold intelligible conversation Brain waves similar to waking.During sleep, the body moves through five different stages of both REM (rapid eye movement) and NREM (non-rapid eye movement) sleep.

Over the course of the night, the body will go through this five-stage cycle four to six times, spending an average of 90 minutes in each stage. Stage 2: You are in light sleep. Your heart rate slows and your body temperature drops. Your body is getting ready for deep sleep. Stages 3: This is the deep sleep stage.

It's harder to rouse you during this stage, and if someone woke you up, you would feel disoriented for a few minutes. Stage Four is a deep sleep that lasts for about 30 minutes. Sleepwalking and bed-wetting typically happen at the end of Stage Four sleep.

(This does not include the problems that can happen with. The different cycles of sleep last for different amounts of time during the night. Non-REM sleep dominates the first half of the night, while the amount of time spent in REM stage sleep increases during the second half.

The amount of time you spend in each stage also depends on your age. Infants spend almost 50% of their time in REM sleep.

Stages of Sleep

When we sleep at night, we typically go through several sleep cycles. And each one of these cycles consists of 4 different stages of sleep. Let’s go through what differentiates these stages and what we know about each of them.

The different stages of sleep
Rated 5/5 based on 48 review